Chicken Tortilla Soup

I made a delicious dinner tonight. Seriously. I usually don’t even like my own cooking, but tonight, I wanted to lick the dishes clean. And best of all? It was super easy and would be really really easy to set up in the crockpot the night before and cook while at work all day. Here’s the recipe–I doubled it by using a can of tomato paste and about 3 additional cans (i.e., fill the tomato paste can up–I know, exact, right?) of water and 3 additional cups of chicken or veggie stock (whatever you’ve got on hand, but not beef stock). This could easily be made vegetarian, too, by taking out the chicken and adding more beans or corn or both.

1 large can crushed tomato
2-3 chicken breasts, cooked and cut into bite sized morsels (what a funny word “morsel” is)
1 1/4 c water
1 1/4 c chicken stock
1 medium onion, diced
3 garlic cloves, minced
1 tsp oregano
1 T chili powder
1 pinch cayenne pepper (more or less depending on how much kick you like your soup to have)
1 tsp salt
1 T olive oil
1 15 oz can corn
1 15 oz can black beans
1 small can diced green chilis

Saute onion and garlic in olive oil in stock pot until onion is soft.
Add cayenne pepper, chili powder, salt, tomato, water, and chicken stock. Bring to a boil and then simmer about 20 minutes (more or less depending on how much time you have, but at least 10 mins–the longer you simmer, the tastier the soup, imho).
Add chicken, corn, beans, and chilis. Simmer at least 20 minutes.

Serve with shredded cheddar cheese and sour cream with crunched up tortilla chips on top. (If you want to keep it weight watchers friendly as I did, skip the toppings. If you do, and you’ve doubled the recipe the way I did with tomato paste and extra water/chicken stock, there are eight (huuuuuge) servings, and they’re 4 points plus each–woot!). Or, use reduced fat sour cream and baked tortilla chips).

Another trick I learned recently: take a freezer ziploc bag, label it with whatever it is and the date, and put it in a large cup with the top of the bag flipped outside the edge of the cup. Ladle your leftover soup into the bag that’s now inside the cup. Get as much air out of the bag as you can and seal the freezer bag. Lay the bag of soup flat to freeze. Once it’s frozen, it’ll stack up flat in your freezer. To thaw, put bag in a pot or large bowl of hot water. Then just microwave, and voila! Soup! It’s my new favorite thing to take to work for lunch. The bag’s enough for three lunches, so I only have to pack one other day because I go out to lunch once a week. Easy peasy.

2 thoughts on “Chicken Tortilla Soup

  1. Totally a good way to use up that leftover turkey sitting in the fridge. Which was the reason I made it in the first place, but I’m so ding-y, I cooked chicken. This morning, I opened the fridge and saw all that turkey in there still and was annoyed at my forgetfulness. I’ll just have to think of something else tasty to do with it. Getting mighty sick o’ turkey sammiches. 🙂

Leave a Reply

