Dewho’s What?

I'm not really sure what holding a pencil has to do with it, but this is what ails me.

I’m not sure if I blogged about this when C was born (I don’t think I did), but did you know that there’s a condition called De Quervain’s teninitis that can be aggravated by a baby? Not kidding. We mothers (and fathers too though the condition is more common in women) tend to pick up our babies by putting our four fingers under baby’s armpits and leaving our thumb perpendicular to our fingers just in front of baby’s arm. This puts a lot of stress on the tendon in our wrists and can cause tendinitis because the movement is repeated over and over (you know, cause babies are all needy and stuff).

Well, anyway, right after I had C I developed this really annoying pain in my wrist, and I went to an orthopedist who told me I had this tendonitis, and he gave me a corticosteriod injection in both wrists. Those shots hurt like a mother. And the needles? Were super long. I was such a baby about the whole thing and couldn’t even look while it was going on. I don’t think the physician’s assistant administering the shot was all that impressed with my bravado. The doctor said that in about 90% of cases, a shot to the wrist is all it takes, and the condition goes away. And it did. Until last week when it came back with a fury. Oh my heck. My wrists were super sore again. I don’t know if it’s because C’s getting so much heavier or what, but I had to go back to the doctor to get another set of shots in my wrists. Which hurt like a mother all over again.

The good news? I also complained about how my knees have been hurting me while I’m running. (The doctor’s response? “Quit running so much; it’s stupid to run that sort of mileage.” Well, thanks for the advice, doc, I’ll be done with this stupid 1/2 marathon in 2 weeks). Anyway, so I got a couple of cortisone shots in my knees as well. On Wednesday night, I tried out my new knees in an easy five mile run, and you know what? They felt amazing.

Unfortunately, cortisone is not a cure-all. And actually, it can wind up causing more harm than good if you use it in the long term. So, I’m hopeful that the wrist pain is gone for good. And I know the knee pain will be gone as soon as I go back to running a normal number of miles per week.

That’s my story, and I’m sticking to it. Happy Friday, y’all.

Leave a Reply

