Mr. C’s California Adventure

cute overload!

This weekend, C and I decided to visit his Auntie Cims in the great state of California, and I tell you, it was one of the best weekends I’ve had in a long time.

It was an auspicious beginning. It’s been SO hot in Las Vegas these days. In fact, we had record highs all last week, and Friday was no exception. Which is normally not a problem in the airport given that it’s generally air conditioned; however, I think it must have been broken on Friday. After wrangling my carry on, C’s diaper bag, my purse, C’s car seat, C’s stroller, and of course, C himself through security, I was literally dying. Sweat dripping down my back dying. Disgusting. And as the flight was delayed, C was overly tired and hungry, and I was desperate for a semi-private spot to nurse that wasn’t the bathroom. (What? You wouldn’t eat in the bathroom. Neither will my kid. It’s disgusting.)

Well, it turns out there are a grand total of zero nursing areas in the McCarren airport. And, with eight jillion delayed flights, there were about as many private-ish spots to nurse. Granted, I have my nursing cover, but there’s just something that bothers me about having my boob out next to a perfect stranger. But that’s just me.

Anyhow, I ended up sneaking behind one of the agent check stands, and there was a vent right above me (why the hell they are a/c-ing an area where no one can get to is beyond me- but beside the point here), and after a little cool breeze and something to eat, C was conked out in my lap. That is until this woman came yelling into her cell phone right beside me. If looks could kill, that woman would be lying dead on the airport floor, but alas they can’t, and I doubt she noticed my annoyance anyhow given how self-absorbed and preoccupied with her call she was.

So of course, C wakes up and is possibly even crabbier than he was initially. Sigh. Eventually, we boarded the plane (got the whole row to myself! YAY for fussy babies scaring people away), and the flight was uneventful.

We arrived to meet my sister, and took Mr. C home, put him to bed, and had a lovely dinner.

The next day, we woke early and had a little play time with the Wagger, my sister’s dog. This dog is exceptionally patient and loving and didn’t even run away when C tried to put his death grip on her ears.

Later, we drove to Capitola, which is this wonderful little beach town near Santa Cruz, and if you haven’t been, I’d highly recommend it. It was wonderful. We set up our little shelter on the beach, and we had a nice picnic lunch, and C took a power snooze. It was a wonderful afternoon. Here are some photos of our adventures:

we didn't travel lightly

we had quite the awesome setup, no?

auntie on babeh duty

me and mah babeh

<

On Sunday, we hung out around town and brunched. S'more photos for your viewing pleasure of us messing around:

look at that babeh!

5 thoughts on “Mr. C’s California Adventure

Leave a Reply

